top of page
Search
Writer's pictureJennifer

Organizing Dresser Drawers

Once again, life has been so busy lately that I've had to put off organizing. I did have a chance to organize my yoga pants drawer, though. Most of you probably don't have an entire drawer devoted to yoga pants only, but I do! It actually includes any lounge-around-the-house-type pants, capris, and shorts. But it was so full and jumbled that I couldn't tell what I even had. I did get rid of two things, but everything else fit and "sparked joy" enough to keep. I was actually watching Marie Kondo on Netflix for the sixth or seventh time and that's what finally motivated me to take ten minutes to organize this drawer.





In true KonMari style, I took everything out of the drawer. I laid it all out on my bed and then took each piece, one at a time, into my hands. I tried it on to be certain it still fit, didn't have holes, etc. I put any damaged or ill-fitting pieces in the donate pile. Then I paid attention to how I felt while wearing each item.


I love yoga pants because they are soft and stretchy and conform to my body. When they fit, they make me feel good about myself. I almost always put on a pair after I get home from work to relax around the house in. But they work hard, too. I clean in them, garden in them, and usually sleep in them.


I also gathered up any additional pairs of these type of pants from around the house. I had some in my pajama drawer and some in the closet. Once I decided what I was keeping, I folded each piece so that it could stand on its own in the drawer. I then arranged them in rows with all the long pants together, then the capris together, then the shorts. As you can see in the pictures, I ended up having more than enough room for all of them!





I'm a minimalist at heart and usually get rid of much more than I did here. But yoga pants are something I wear every day and I've owned many of these pairs for decades. They have some sentimental attachment for me... much more so than jeans or shoes or shirts. Everyone is different and has attachment to different things for different reasons... I just wanted to drive home the point that you don't have to get rid of everything just because you have a lot of something. But each and every item should be accessible and usable.


Again, I am surprised at how much more I'm wearing each of these items now that I can actually see and get to all of them. I love these pants and now this is my favorite drawer in the house to open!

0 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page