top of page
Search
Writer's pictureJennifer

Who is Indy's Minimalist Organizer?

Updated: Nov 4, 2018

Hi, everyone! This is Jennifer Morrow and I am Indy's Minimalist Organizer! This is a new hobby/business that I'm starting in order to share what I have learned about minimalism and home organization with my friends and family. If you or anyone you know would like me to help you permanently declutter and organize your home, please contact me to schedule an appointment.


Like most of you, my home organizational system used to revolve around plastic totes, bins, boxes, etc. My bins were beautifully labeled with exactly what was in them so I could easily find what I needed when I needed it. At the time, I had a 1,000 square foot house with a damp basement so I rationalized buying bins and then more bins because I had to protect my items from water damage, mold, etc. Then I moved into a new house that had over twice the amount of room. My totes all moved with me and I had room for even more totes!


Long story short, I was living in organized clutter. I always felt overwhelmed by these boxes everywhere, even though they were organized and labeled. Why? The answer was because they were full of items that I had to store, maintain, clean, haul around... and for what? I used maybe 5% of what was in those boxes yet I was spending time and energy and having anxiety about them!


Through research, I have discovered the real key to organizing is minimizing. If you go through your items and pare them down to only what actually adds value to your life, the organizing is easy, effective, and permanent! And it feels so good!


I never realized how much anxiety all my excess items caused. I'm far from done with my minimalism journey, but the steps I have taken have really improved my mental state and well-being. Please let me know if I can help you to do the same.




0 views0 comments

Comments


bottom of page